Senator’s visit

Pathology – healthcare’s engine room Most people have never...


Tour may cause headaches for some

For pathology customers needing to visit certain patient cen...


Insect venom therapy research

In Australia, venoms from stinging insects are one of the mo...

SA Pathology’s Centre for Cancer Biology leaders receive national honours

05 February 2018

It gives me great pleasure to congratulate Professor Sharad Kumar AM and Professor Greg Goodall, who have both recently received significant national recognition for their work in Medical Research.

Professor Kumar received a Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia in the Australia Day Honours list for significant service to medical research in the field of cancer and cell biology. The prestigious Australia Day Honour recognises his significant service to medical research in the field of cancer and cell biology, as a scientist and author, to medical education, and as a mentor.

Professor Kumar continues to represent SA Pathology in his role as Co-Director of the CCB, a successful Alliance between SA Pathology and the University of South Australia.    

Featured in over 225 publications, Professor Kumar has won many professional accolades including the 2003 ASBMB Amersham Bioscience Award and the Ranbaxy Research Award. Professor Kumar’s research on genes controlling cell survival and protein modification has implications for an array of medical outcomes, illuminating exciting developments in personalised treatment. The discoveries made by his laboratory have also opened up new avenues in other areas such as inflammation, kidney disease and blood pressure homeostasis.

In February, Professor Goodall will receive the Julian Wells Medal at the Lorne Genome Conference.  The Julian Wells Medal is awarded annually to a scientist who has made an outstanding contribution to our understanding of the organisation and expression of the genome, and has made a major contribution to the development of this field of research in Australia. The focus of this award is on recognising the achievements of active scientists, rather than being a lifetime achievement award.

Professor Goodall has embraced the world of RNA and post-transcriptional mechanisms of gene regulation.  Professor Goodall is a Section Leader in the Centre for Cancer Biology and co-Director of the CCB ACRF Cancer Genomics Facility at SA Pathology, an NHMRC Principal Research Fellow and an Adjunct Professor of the University of South Australia. His recent work has focused on microRNAs and circular RNAs involved in cell invasion and cancer metastasis.

I am sure that all at SA Pathology will join with me in congratulating Sharad and Greg on this well-deserved recognition.


Dr Glenn Edwards
Executive Director